1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Emotions
  4. The Seven Stages of Grief

The Seven Stages of Grief

Grief is a natural emotional response to loss, usually the loss of a loved one, that involves distress. Moving through this process is a healthy way of coping. Identifying the different stages of grief and knowing what to expect during each one can help us understand the emotional changes that occur following a loss. Since grief is very personal, it is important to interpret the stages loosely, expecting individual variation. There is no neat progression from one stage to the next, but this model is a good general guide of what to expect.

Download PDF here.

Updated on August 13, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles